Ice Cream Sandwiches at Three Tarts


Last Tuesday was a special holiday in my book. It was National Ice Cream Sandwich day. Being the ice cream sandwich fanatic that I am, I vowed to observe it appropriately. Luckily, Three Tarts was celebrating in style with an ice cream sandwich social.

I mentioned my fondness for these cake-based ice cream sandwiches in my first Three Tarts review. Rather than on cookies, the ice cream is sandwiched between very thin layers of cake. The result are little squares of heaven.  

            

The folks at Three Tarts come up with the most delicious and unique flavor combinations for the sandwiches. For the event, the flavors offered were
– carrot cake with cream cheese walnut ice cream
– lavender ice cream with candied honey on lemon cake
– rum raisin ice cream on orange chiffon cake
– coconut ice cream on chocolate cake
– cookies n’ cream on chocolate cake
– cardamom apricot ice cream on pistachio cake

We chose the first two. The carrot cake was sweet and dotted with shreds of chewy carrot. The cream cheese ice cream was definitely the dominant component, with a tangy cream cheese flavor that intensified as it melted on your tongue. The walnuts add an extra dose of richness and are the final flavor you taste after all of the ice cream melts in your mouth. I was sure the carrot cake would be my favorite as I adore carrot cake, but the lavender and lemon actually ended up stealing the show. I was a little hesitant about lavender since I often find it too perfumey in food. It ended up being a mild lavender flavor that was complemented beautifully by the tart lemon and floral honey. The mix of lemon and lavender made for a delightfully refreshing cake and ice cream combination.

In honor of the special occasion, author Laura B. Weiss was in attendance signing copies of her book, Ice Cream: A Global History.

After finishing our ice cream sandwiches, we had fun walking around the shop and discovering all the little gems and knick knacks on the shelves, including these gorgeous dried orange mosaic brownies and blondies. If you’re in New York any time during the warmer months, I highly encourage you to stop by Three Tarts for an ice cream sandwich or any of their other artful confections.

Three Tarts
164 9th Ave
New York, NY
Three Tarts on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ice Cream Sandwiches at Three Tarts

  1. daisyiii says:

    I still can’t believe the reviews of sweet shops are pouring in, each one makes me more envious than the last! I love lavender in desserts / drinks, I’m glad this treat won you over!

  2. I would definitely choose the lavender!

  3. Ice cream and desserts all day, every day. I want your life! I’m slightly obsessed with lavender these days so that combo sounds delicious!

  4. I would love some carrot cake ice cream sandwiches! I’ll check out Three Tarts next time I’m in NY 🙂

  5. 3tarts says:

    Hi Elizabeth,
    It was great meeting you at our Ice Cream Social! We’re glad you got to taste some of our unique flavors……our lavender ice cream and candied honey is definitely a fan favorite! We’re constantly creating new flavors so next time your in town make sure to stop in and see what we’re up to. Thanks for the great write-up and hope to see you soon!

    XOXO,
    The Tarts

  6. Megan says:

    That lavender one sounds delicious! Thin layers of cake is such a good idea.

  7. Michelle says:

    The carrot cake sandwich sounds AWESOME!

  8. Linda says:

    How nice that the Tarts — all 3 of them! — posted such a nice response. Next time it’s chocolate with coconut ice cream or cardamom apricot.

  9. 3tarts says:

    Well Linda we are nice, but it does get crowded around the keyboard when we all want to say something. Thanks for your kind words and come try our ice cream sandwiches anytime!

    XOXO,
    The Tarts

  10. Joanne says:

    I’m getting heart palpitations just looking at these. In a good way.

    Next time you’re in NYC, I need to know! We have lots of good food to eat together!

  11. shannon says:

    ooh, i totally would’ve gone with carrot cake and the cardamom 🙂 but i did just make a lavender honey ice cream so that would be delicious as well! wow. what a fabulous idea!

Leave a Reply

