Cafe Chew and a Cape Cod Day Trip

Last week, Dave and I took a day trip to the lower cape. I’d only been to the cape once before, to Provincetown on a senior week trip, so it still holds a lot of novelty for me. We got a late start and so we chose a spot not too far away to stop for lunch. Appropriately, we got sandwiches, in Sandwich!

Through a little pre-trip research, I found Cafe Chew in Sandwich. Due to its location in  a small pseudo-shopping center, it was a little tricky to find. Once we located it, though I was thrill with this choice of lunch spot. Its exterior is quintessentially Cape Cod. Inside is a homey space, decked out in dark wood and retro artifacts. The counter has a large selection of pastries, and a chalkboard above lists daily specials. Eager but slightly frazzled teens both make and serve the food.

There is ample seating available, even during the lunch rush, both outside on the patio and inside. Cafe Chew offers a standard selection of salads and sandwiches. I ordered the hummus and tabouli salad plate, which ended up exceeding my expectations. A large pile of chopped romaine was topped with tomato, cucumber and red onion in a vinegar-y dressing and topped with pumpkin seeds. Sometimes the hummus falls short at lunch like this and ends up being more like an industrial grade paste. This was flavorful with a smooth consistency. I left most of the tabouli untouched, which was too bland for my taste. The hummus and crunchy dressed greens piled atop multigrain toast made for a delightful meal.

Dave ordered one of the daily specials, the Smokey Dutchman: turkey, gouda and bacon with avocado, lettuce and tomato on a pretzel roll, served, of course, with Cape Cod chips on the side. It’s hard to go wrong with a combination of ingredients like this, and the soft pretzel roll just elevates the sandwich further.

After lunch we drove a few minutes away to the Lowell Holly Reservation in Mashpee.

We hiked on wooded trails for about a half hour until we reached narrowest portion of Conaumet Neck, where you can quickly hop from the shores of Wakeby Pond on one side to Mashpee pond on the other.

And since no summer day trip is complete without ice cream, we drove further down to Hyannis in hopes of finding something good.

I was less than thrilled with Hyannis in general. This stretch of Main Street had a few too many tourist souvenir shops and offered very little charm. One of the redeeming parts of Hyannis though was Katie’s Homemade Ice Cream, a large pastel pink building on one of the corners of Main Street. We got a cup of chocolate ice cream and butter brittle ice cream. It was already starting to melt even before we stepped out into the heat, which was fine by me as I like my ice cream soft and partially melted. The flavors were good and it hit the spot. If you happen to be in Hyannis, it’s worth a visit, otherwise, I wouldn’t go out of my way.

Cafe Chew
4 Merchants Road
Sandwich, MA
Cafe Chew on Urbanspoon

Katie’s Homemade Ice Cream
570 Main Street
Hyannis, MA
Katie's Homemade Ice Cream on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cafe Chew and a Cape Cod Day Trip

  1. What a fun day trip!! I love Dave’s pretzel roll sandwich… and glad to see you guys are keeping up with the ice cream tradition 🙂

  2. Daisy says:

    aww fun! I’d be all about the Smokey Dutchman. Main St Hyannis is super touristy, I’m not surprised you weren’t impressed. I can’t remember the last time I visited main st – probably to bar hop with friends way back when. There are some decent shops among the hoards of tacky souvenir places though, my high school wardrobe would know. 😉 hehe.

  3. shannon says:

    mmm, i need to try making pretzel rolls! looks like a fun day 🙂

  4. Couldn’t agree more about Hyannis. Not a fan at all. But that pretzel roll! I am DEFINITELY a fan of that pretzel roll!

  5. Molly Galler says:

    I would like to replicate every single part of this day please! That lunch looks amazing! When you have more than a day to visit the Cape, Truro is a must! My family has vacationed there for over 15 years. I can tell you all the best beaches and places to eat.

  6. Lizzy says:

    Did I know already that you have a DAve too!! Same name for us, same man name?! hehe

    I love Brewster/Dennis area on the Cape- thats where I spend a majority of my time. The Cape in general is one of my favorite places on earth!!! But the only time I’ve spent in Hyannis is in Feb for the Half marathon!

  7. If you get the chance, visit the Outer Cape (Orleans, Eastham, Welfleet, Truro & PTown). The best of the Cape in my opinion!

  8. Taryn says:

    That pretzel roll looks amazing! I grew up in MA but I’ve never really spent any time on the Cape, so I’ll be sure not to make Hyannis my first trip! The melty ice cream would be right up my alley though 🙂

  9. I love the Cape and actually really like Hyannis :p I want a pretzel roll sandwich too!

  10. Michelle says:

    The pretzel roll on your boyfriend’s sandwich looks AWESOME!

  11. Love the pretzel roll. Next time go to Four Seas in Centerville for ice cream. We grew up going there.

  12. Erica says:

    Whar a great lunch spot!! Love your order. And josh is a huge pretzel roll fan

  13. biz319 says:

    Um, I’d be all over the pretzel roll sandwich – looks amazing!

  14. Kim K says:

    i want a pretzel roll sammy STAT!

  15. Megan says:

    Love the Cape! My aunt and uncle have a house in Mashpee and we stay there a lot! (Though I do love Eastham best.) That pretzel roll looks tasty. I will have to keep an eye out for it.

  16. Joanne says:

    I always LOVE the idea of hummus plates but so few of them really satisfy…this one looks fabulous! Butter brittle ice cream – seems like something i need to make!

  17. Pingback: Restaurant Review: Cafe Chew «

Leave a Reply

