Sweets from 3 Little Figs

On the list of things that excite me, a new bakery moving to the area, or better yet, my neighborhood, ranks high up there. If you haven’t heard, 3 Little Figs is opening a cafe in Somerville within the next few weeks. Not only am I excited that this awesome baking company is getting a cafe of its own, but I’m also excited because the area could definitely benefit from a good cafe. I first discovered 3 Little Figs at City Feed in Jamaica Plain. I was instantly smitten with the use of unique ingredients and local produce. I had the chance to meet Katie Rooney, also known as “the Big Fig,” when she sold her treats at the Somerville Winter Market. It was there that I tried one of her donut muffins for the first time.

We’ll get to the donut muffin momentarily. But first, the local squash and maple yogurt cake. This cake is incredibly moist. I find pumpkin baked goods all too often rely on the accompanying spices like cinnamon and nutmeg for the flavor, while not allowing the actual squash flavor to stand out. This cake had a wonderful sweet and earthy mix of squash and maple. The cake on its own is delicious and just the right amount of sweet. A drizzle of icing makes it just a touch richer and more decadent without covering up the lovely squash flavor.

Another 3 Little Figs fall specialty is the local apple spice donut muffin. It is massive, for starters. It is coated, and I mean coated, in a melted butter and sugar mixture that gives it the ultimate donut-like exterior. We know how I feel about a good cinnamon and sugar coating. The inside is dense and cakey, warm with spices and packed with little chunks of apple.

Katie’s other baked treats include fig and pear scones, local honey cake, cocoa zucchini cake, chocolate ginger bomb cookies, savory tarts and more. The new cafe will also feature espresso and sandwiches. Katie is documenting the construction  of the cafe well and you can view the progress on their Facebook page. Until the cafe opens, you can find 3 Little Figs at City Feed and several farmers’ markets in the area. I will be back with a post on the new cafe as soon as it opens.

3 Little Figs
278 Highland Avenue (opening soon)
Somerville, MA
3 Little Figs on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sweets from 3 Little Figs

  1. There’s the doughnut muffin! I could go for one of those now, over coffee! Looking forward to 3 Figs opening!

  2. I love the name, super cute!

  3. Daisy says:

    apple spice donut muffin is calling my name! speaking of names – this place has a cute one, very catchy!

  4. I’m always pleased when fresh and local ingredients are highlighted in baked goods. I love a good donut muffin, and I can’t wait till opening!

  5. shannon says:

    woah, that donut muffin is intense!! and squash maple honey cake? that’s one to remember for my kitchen 🙂

  6. Both of these pastries look AMAZING! I would love to try the squash and maple cake!

  7. Megan says:

    Looking forward to checking out the new cafe!

  8. Megan says:

    I often wish I lived closer to Somerville so I could try out places like this. That apple donut muffin—oy—I am salivating!

  9. Melissa says:

    Yay new treats in my neighborhood! Can’t wait to check it out!

  10. Erica says:

    Omg- that donut muffin looks awesome

  11. betsy says:

    I’ve never heard of a donut muffin and that looks fantastic!

  12. Joanne says:

    I think I’m gonna need to make a trip to somerville just for this! That apple donut muffin sounds like a miracle on a plate.

  13. I have never tried a donut muffin, would definitely try to make it

  14. A Boston Food Diary says:

    Everything about this is great! I love the name, and every baked good looks incredible! Great find!

  15. Pingback: 3 Little Figs Cafe | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

