3 Little Figs Cafe

At long last, the 3 Little Figs cafe in Somerville is open. Last month I featured some of the pastries made by “Big Fig” Katie in anticipation of the cafe’s opening and now I’m excited to show you the finished space.

The cafe is absolutely stunning with a blue and white color scheme, intricate stenciling on the walls and abundant sunlight. Fresh flowers and mini pumpkins adorn the countertops and the light fixtures are repurposed whisk attachements from industrial mixers.

The cafe sells the same wonderful treats that previously were only available at farmers’ markets or City Feed, like the devilishly good chocolate ginger bombs, rich chocolate and molasses spice cookies with fresh grated ginger and chunks of chocolate. They are soft with a crunchy coating of turbinado sugar on the outside.

The opening of the cafe brings with it the debut of some new breakfast and lunch offerings. There are sandwiches and toasts, smaller open-face sandwiches perfect for breakfast or a light lunch. Above, the Feta Toast with olive tapenade, tomatoes, feta, olive oil and herbs.

The Market with prosciutto, goat cheese, arugula, fig jam.

And my current obsession, the Village with roasted purple sweet potato, sun-dried tomatoes, arugula, goat cheese, honey and olive oil. This sandwich is served on a sweet and nutty grain bread from Iggy’s. The drizzle of honey is the highlight of this sandwich, adding a subtle note of earthy sweetness.

The maple pecan scone bears no resemblance to those leaden, dry pastries that often plague bakery cases. These are light and moist, with crisp, buttery edges.

Baklava is packed with big chunks of walnuts and pistachios held together by a sticky sweet honey mixture.

Strawberry “Roobarb” Cake

3 Little Figs is a family operation through and through. Walk in at any point and you’ll find Katie baking and prepping in the kitchen, often with her mother too. Katie’s sister Caroline greets customers at the counter with a smile and Katie’s husband Andy heads up the coffee operation, brewing drinks using Gimme! Coffee from Ithaca, NY. If you don’t normally find yourself in the Davis/Porter/general Somerville area, 3 Little Figs is an excellent reason to make a trip. The cafe is open 7am-6pm Tuesday through Friday, 8am to 4pm Saturday, and 8am-3pm Sundays.

3 Little Figs
278 Highland Avenue
Somerville, MA
3 Little Figs on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 3 Little Figs Cafe

  1. Love the name, so cute! And I love that it is a family business. I will definitely have to check it out.

  2. Daisy says:

    Those light fixtures are such a creative idea. I would be all over The Market Sandwich!

  3. Sacha says:

    I can’t wait to try it out! And I can tell from your shot of the case that the donut muffins (yum!) are readily available.

  4. Erica says:

    LOVE the lights!!! And the feta toast looks totally yummy

  5. Julia says:

    LOVE! The baked goods and coffee are to die for and the owners are some of the nicest people I know. The Porter/Davis Sq neighborhood is very lucky to have this fine new establishment!

  6. Dan says:

    I went there yesterday, it was just as good as this article makes it sound. I’ve been following them around from market to market, and I’m glad they finally have a place to call their own! I would recommend 3 Little Figs to anyone!

  7. So close to my apartment! YES! Can’t wait to try it out. It looks great.

  8. Yayyy 3 Little Figs! I will definitely come visit soon. Great seeing you last night!

  9. shannon says:

    that place sounds fantastic, and i might need to make a trip just because 🙂

  10. Taryn says:

    This place looks great! There is a brand new coffee shop near my apartment called Render Coffee, and they sell 3 Little Figs baked goods. I’ve tried a few samples when I’ve been in, and they’ve all been delicious! Can’t wait to check it out.

  11. Molly Galler says:

    Look at the brilliant color of that sweet potato! This was a drool-inducing post!

  12. Joanne says:

    Okay so…I can’t wait until my next visit to Boston to have that sandwich. However, next time I’m there…I’m totally raiding 3 Little Figs!

  13. Michelle says:

    This place looks AWESOME! The feta toast looks especially good!

  14. Megan says:

    It’s so cute and sunny! I want that feta toast and those chocolate-ginger cookies!

  15. Meesh says:

    i love those purple potatoes! never seen anything like that in a sandwich

  16. This place looks adorable. I should make the journey before it gets too cold!

  17. Megan says:

    That Village sandwich looks really interesting—! I’d love to try this place out.

  18. Okay, I realized this place is right along my running route, which means I should end my next run there and refuel at the cafe!

  19. Bridget says:

    Oh I remember you talking about this place!! SO cute! Although it kills me everytime I hear about another new awesome place in Somerville when I used to be down the street!! 🙂 I’ll just have to make some more trips there!

  20. Pingback: Bye Boston | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

