Bolton Orchards

Did you ever visit somewhere on a day trip, enjoy it immensely, only to completely forget the name a few years later? In college my parents drove up to Massachusetts every year for my birthday and we would spend a day picking apples and enjoying the beautiful fall foliage. One of the farms we visited my freshman year was Bolton Orchards, but until last month I could not recall the name. Over the years we visited several farms and orchards, but there were a number things that stood out to me about Bolton (though clearly the name was not one of them). There was a picnic area, sandwiched on one side by a sizable farm store and on the other with a barn. I still remember the cider donuts that day, and this was before I harbored such an intense cider donut obsession. They were being fried fresh by members of the Bolton Lions Club. I don’t remember them being particularly amazing, but the Lions Club fellows could not have been friendlier and donuts don’t get any better than fresh out of the fryer.

Other things that stood out to me: there was a wooden dispenser mounted to a wall in the store that dispensed cold cider. The price for a small cup of cider? 5 cents. And you insert your coin into a little wooden box. The store also has a large prepared foods section with sandwiches, meats, and salads. One of the dishes they had on that first visit was vegetable baked beans. The beans were actually cooked with chunks of vegetables in a sweet molasses-brown sugar sauce. They were delicious.

For some reason, I could not recall the name until last month. I was researching farms and came across a mention of cider donuts fried every Sunday by the Lions Club. That was it! Dave and I took a drive out there following Phil’s Apples. We already had apples and I was mostly curious to revisit the store and the donuts. The store still had the cider dispenser, sadly no baked beans though. Most importantly, the Lions were out in full force, doling out piping hot donuts. Yes, they were naked, but much better than a certain other naked donut. They had a nice thick and crispy exterior and dense, cakey inside. A touch greasy but not offensively so.

On a mild day, Bolton is a nice place to stop and sit outside for a picnic after checking out the orchard and the store. If you can, go on a Sunday because that’s the only day when the Lions Club is there. And donuts are infinitely better when served fresh and with a smile.

Bolton Orchards
125 Still River Road
Bolton, MA

This entry was posted in Farms, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bolton Orchards

  1. Michelle says:

    I think I’ve been here before…or at least I remember the sign on the cider house!

  2. Joanne says:

    The best orchard I ever went to was in Mass also, but I have NO IDEA what the name is! I wonder if it was Bolton…could be. I don’t remember any baked beans but apple cider donuts were aplenty (as it should be)!

  3. Carole says:

    Was cider still a nickle?

  4. Daisy says:

    sounds like a fun excursion! gotta love a cup of cider for a nickel!

  5. shannon says:

    this post made me smile 🙂 love it when you can relive happy memories!

  6. Erica says:

    This place screams fall! mmm that donut! I’m not much for donuts, but I have a feeling I would love this one

  7. ooh i want a doughnut and a cheap glass of cider! This place looks adorable!

  8. cathi says:

    I grew up near Bolton Orchards…the cider has been a nickel for over 50 years. And it is paid on the honor system. I drive back to Bolton every fall for the Russet Cider. It is the best ever!

Leave a Reply

