Dupont Circle Farmers’ Market

On Sunday morning of my trip to DC, Sarah, Rachel and I headed to the Dupont Circle Farmers’ Market. They both told me it was big but I was not expecting THIS big. I’d say it’s on par with the Union Square Greenmarket in terms of size. And the variety! Gelato, pasta, every kind of cheese imaginable, every fruit and vegetable, salsas, jams, prepared foods, bread, pastries, meat, mushrooms, plants and more. This website provides a neatly organized and comprehensive list and map of all the market vendors.

Next Step Produce from Southern Maryland had a wealth of those elusive Jerusalem artichokes.

That same farm also had persimmons, something I had only ever seen at farms and farmers’ market in Italy. I knew they grew in California, I was not aware they grew along the mid-Atlantic.

We sampled several goat cheeses from Firefly Farm in Maryland. Rachel chose a log of the Bûche Noire which was soft and crumbly on the outside and gooey in the center.

Vibrant greens from Spring Valley Farm & Orchard in Augusta, WV.

Bonaparte Breads from Baltimore had a handsome display of European pastries: glazed fruit tarts, buttery croissants, pain au chocolat and more. Rachel and I split a sizable almond croissant, which was pleasant but not fully flakey and paled in comparison to the gold standard of almond croissants at Patisserie au Kouign-Amann in Montreal.

Keswick Creamery hands down won the award for best samples. The Newburg, PA farm had practically every one of its cheeses out to taste, including ricotta, quark, feta, several hard cheeses, as well as yogurt and chocolate pudding.

The Dupont Circle Farmers’ Market runs year round, with shortened hours and slightly fewer vendors from January through March.

Dupont Circle Farmers’ Market
Sundays, 8:30am-1pm, 10am-1pm Jan-March
20th Street, Northwest
Washington, D.C.

This entry was posted in Farmers' Markets, Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dupont Circle Farmers’ Market

  1. Ohhh so that’s what a Jerusalem artichoke looks like! I remember that soup we had at Catalyst…

    I have not had a persimmon in years. When I was younger we use to buy the Japanese persimmons.

  2. Bianca, why am I not surprised that we both love persimmons?

  3. I missed this when I was in DC, now I want to go back!

    • Elizabeth says:

      I went to the market for the first time two or three years ago but it was in March and much smaller. It was so much bigger this time, definitely a sight to see.

  4. Megan says:

    I’m so jealous looking at all those pictures.

  5. Looks like such a fantastic market!! Hopefully Boston get something like that soon!

  6. shannon says:

    persimmons, in dc? cool!

  7. Daisy says:

    sounds like a field day, especially with all those samples!

  8. DC is so fantastic. Love the produce!

  9. Pingback: Lavender Moon Cupcakery and Old Town Alexandria | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

