Robicelli’s

Over the years, I’ve done my fair share of New York cupcake sampling. I don’t always race out right away to try a new baker, but I have been curious to try Robicelli’s ever since I started reading about them over a year ago. They don’t have a brick and mortar shop but, as luck would have it, Robicelli’s has a stall at the Union Square Holiday Market this year.

The first time I went I got to meet owner Allison Robicelli herself.  In addition to their elegantly frosted cupcakes, they’re selling whoopie pies and brownies as well as Danny Macaroons. I visited the stall several times in one week, slowly working my way through their offerings.

On one visit, my mom and I got three flavors: Hot Buttered Rum; the Ebinger: chocolate cake, chocolate custard buttercream, chocolate fudge dip, and cake crumbs; and my favorite, the Pear Mascarpone: pear cake, mascarpone buttercream, and homemade pear chip. The pear is a real standout, with a moist, fruity cake and a sweet and tangy mascarpone frosting. The Buttered Rum was nicely butterscotch-y with a hint of salt. The Ebinger had a chewy, very brownie-like cake that contrasted nicely with the smooth buttercream.

The whoopie pie got consumed before I could get a nice closeup, but you get the idea. Instead of a fluffy, sugary filling, this whoopie is filled with a smooth, dense buttercream. They describe it as a vanilla marshmallow filling but it seemed to be too dense to be marshmallow.  The cakes are thinner and flatter than a traditional whoopie, and overall richer and more flavorful than the cake component of an average whoopie. They come in fun flavors too that rotate including mint chocolate, eggnog, nutella praline, and cookies & cream.

And to round out my initial sampling, I got the Fany brownie, made with cinnamon and cajeta (goat’s milk caramel). I’m a sucker for a brownie with cinnamon (or a Mexican chocolate brownie). The Fany was chewy and chocolatey but not overly rich, with sweet and spicy flavors from the cinnamon and caramel. The brownies also come in Classic with a touch of sea salt and the Maltz with bourbon and bacon. Robicelli’s will be at Union Square through December 24th and in the spring they will return to their space at the DeKalb Market. They are also sold in several shops throughout Brooklyn and Manhattan. Check here for locations.

More cupcakes in New York:
Billy’s Bakery
Butter Lane
DessertClub, ChikaLicious 
Sugar Sweet Sunshine

Robicelli’s
332 Flatbush Avenue Extension (in the spring)
Brooklyn, NY

and at the Union Square Holiday Market through Dec. 24
New York, NY

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Robicelli’s

  1. Daisy says:

    I’m all about the hot buttered rum cupcake. what cozy stand, great photo of the owner!

  2. That buttered rum cupcake sounds fantastic! Leave it to you to find the best cupcakes around 🙂

  3. I’m a sucker for a brownie with caramel 😉 I went to the Union Square Holiday Market last month and didn’t notice them, but I did see a lot of other great food stalls too!

  4. Megan says:

    Hmm.. I’m feeling the need to re-create that pear mascarpone cupcake… maybe in tartlet form!

  5. I love the sound of just about everything! Especially that brownie. Great find!

  6. Boston Guru says:

    All I remember about that post: hot buttered rum, pear mascarpone blah blah blah do they ship?

  7. Sacha says:

    I’ve heard of Robicelli’s because the owner sometimes feature one of my favorite candy companies, Liddabit Sweets, in their cupcakes. Hot Buttered Rum and Pear Mascarpone sound wonderful!

  8. The pear mascarpone sounds AWESOME!

  9. Yum, those cupcakes are gorgeous! I would love to try the hot buttered rum.

  10. Joanne says:

    I think I’m going to have to make an excursion (or six) to seek out some Robicelli goods! That brownie sounds AMAZING. I definitely didn’t spend enough time at the Union Square holiday market this year (err….or any time)…definitely need to remember to explore it more next year!

  11. looks tasty! and those flavors sound really interesting!

  12. Erica says:

    Owww! Id be all about the fanny! That sounds awesome

  13. Erica says:

    Haha i meant fany

  14. Shannon says:

    ok, i’ll take a brownie and pear cupcake please, stat!!

  15. Pingback: Butter Lane | Free Food Boston

Leave a Reply

