Banana Cupcakes with Biscoff Frosting

I have envisioned Biscoff (or Spekuloos spread) in so many possible creations. This particular pairing—banana and Biscoff—came from my roommate’s sister-in-law. I absolutely love the combination of banana and caramel or toffee (anyone know where to find good Banoffee in the area?), so I knew these would be good. With a (nearly) full jar of Biscoff, I set to work finding some recipes.

The banana cake recipe comes from Martha Stewart and is incredibly simple. We left the cupcakes in for the exact amount of time specified and they came out perfect: tender with slightly browned edges and a good banana flavor.

I started out with a recipe from Picky Palate as a guide for Biscoff frosting, but her butter to Biscoff ratio was far too high and so I ended up using my own proportions for a more prominent Biscoff flavor. The recipe below will make enough to frost 12 cupcakes generously. Feel free to double it, as it would be a delightful companion to several other baked goods, or simply if you foresee yourself dipping your finger into the mixing bowl multiple times during the process.

Banana Cupcakes
adapted from Martha Stewart

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 – 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 3 ripe bananas), plus 1 whole banana, for garnish (optional)
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a standard 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
2. Make a well in center of flour mixture. In well, mix together butter, mashed bananas, eggs, and vanilla. Stir to incorporate flour mixture (do not overmix). Dividing evenly, spoon batter into muffin cups.
3. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes. Remove cupcakes from pan; cool completely on a wire rack.

Biscoff Buttercream

Ingredients
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1/3 cup Biscoff spread
2-2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk

Place butter and biscoff spread into bowl of stand or electric mixer. Beat on medium speed until creamy and smooth. Slowly add powdered sugar until thick and creamy. Add milk until desired consistency. Frost on cooled cupcakes.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Banana Cupcakes with Biscoff Frosting

  1. Meghan says:

    I love banana cupcakes!

  2. Allison says:

    I’m Sarah’s sister-in-law, and I’m so glad you actually made these! They look delicious.

  3. I love banana and carmamel too! SO good!

  4. These sound awesome!! I am embarrassed to say that I have yet to try biscoff but bananas and caramel are always excellent.

  5. I obviously need to try biscoff – I have been seeing it everywhere! I always seem to make extra frosting because there can never be enough in my opinion 🙂

  6. Daisy says:

    this look so good, I have never tried biscoff but it sounds amazing in a buttercream

  7. Becky says:

    We were just talking about spekuloos! Sounds like a great pairing.

  8. Ack now I want a Banoffee pie! These cupcakes sound dangerously good.

  9. shannon says:

    yeah, i can bet that frosting would be dangerous 🙂 what a fabulous cupcake flavor!!

  10. Megan says:

    They look beautiful! What a great combination!

  11. Joanne says:

    Forget dipping, I’ll be piping that frosting directly into my mouth!

  12. Taryn says:

    Yummy!! I haven’t baked with Biscoff yet (I mostly just eat it out of the jar…) but it’s on my list of things to do! These look great.

  13. Erica says:

    These are just GORGEOUS. I have been waiting for the Spekuloos to arrive at our TJs…but no such luck yet!

  14. Alli says:

    I just bought a jar of the TJs version. I was looking for a way to use it other then big spoonfuls in my mouth. Yum!

  15. Pingback: Loyal to the crown | Rachel baked.

Leave a Reply

