Chilly Cow

As I mentioned in my donut recap, last week’s trip to Arlington was for the purpose of trying out some frozen custard. I had passed by Chilly Cow in Arlington Center at least a dozen times, but for some reason, up until last week, I’d never felt any inclination to try it out. The heat wave had me wanting something ice cream-like, and the idea of frozen custard, something I haven’t had many times, was suddenly very appealing.

According to Chilly Cow, frozen custard is defined as having at least 1.4% egg yolks by volume and has less air whipped into it during manufacturing than ice cream does. The end result is an extremely dense finished product. Chilly Cow also offers traditional ice cream, and on my first visit I tried one frozen custard, Chocolate Cookie, and one ice cream, Vanilla Brownie, which provided a nice side-by-side comparison. The frozen custard was noticeably more dense and with a richer, eggy texture. It was softer and more pliable, and noticeably less icy, than the ice cream.

I was smitten with the Chocolate Cookie variety in particular (at the bottom of the cup in the photo below). The combination of the chocolate base, small bits of chocolate cookie (not Oreo mind you) and the rich custard texture was stellar. I returned again this past weekend, knowing full well I was going to get the Chocolate Cookie custard again. This time I combined it with Coffee Oreo custard. Really though, I should have gotten over my need to always get two flavors, because I would have been happy with a cup of just the Chocolate Cookie.

The Coffee Oreo had the same luxuriously soft custard consistency with a strong coffee flavor, but the ratio of Oreo to custard was far too high. And that’s not something you’ll hear me say often. I usually love an abundance of crushed up cookie in my ice cream, but here, I felt all the Oreo took away from the wonderfulness of the frozen custard. And overall, more cookie means less actual custard. The cookie to custard ratio was far more acceptable in the Chocolate Cookie variety. So keep in mind, what you like in ice cream might not carry over to frozen custard. Moral of the story: frozen custard is a must-try for any ice cream aficionado.

Chilly Cow
451 Mass Ave
Arlington, MA

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chilly Cow

  1. Yeah, custard is seriously addicting. The first job I ever had was working at an italian ice shop. They brought in custard, it was game over for me…

  2. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    I love Chilly Cow so I’ve been eagerly waiting for this blog post. 🙂

  3. Ranjani says:

    I’ve never had frozen custard! I think I’ll wait for the next warm spell before I try it though…

  4. Erica says:

    I really enjoy cookie in ice cream! But, you’re right, the ratio is very important! Coffee ice cream is always one of my favorites too.

  5. Meghan says:

    I love frozen custard! My favorite is Kohr’s at the Jersey Shore, but I will have to check out Chilly Cow!

  6. Bee says:

    Aw, your posts make me miss Boston and all its adorable little eateries 🙂

  7. Daisy says:

    i have wanted to try frozen custard since one of my friends moved to Milwaukee and that is the “ice cream” of choice out there. you described it beautifully!

  8. Meesh says:

    im not a huge dessert person in general, but i’ve always liked custard in its room temperature (?) form – so i have to try this! gah, why is arlington so far away

  9. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic says:

    I know exactly where Chilly Cow is but haven’t tried it. I do love the frozen custard at Abbott’s though!

  10. shannon says:

    chocolate almond frozen custard from abbott’s. you should try it. i’ll come with 😉

  11. I’m totally craving ice cream now despite the fact that it’s no longer in the 70-80s. 🙂

  12. … and apparently I need to try Abbott’s too. Can I join your date? 😉

  13. Sacha says:

    I love frozen custard (or really, anything custard), but I haven’t tried Chilly Cow. Hopefully I’ll get there when the weather is warm again!

  14. I love frozen custard but haven’t had it in ages. I’ll definitely have to try Chilly Cow!

  15. I want it to get warm (for many reasons) so I can eat more amazing ice cream like this!

  16. Joanne says:

    I’m intrigued by the frozen custard since a more dense and softer ice cream sounds perfect to me! TOO MANY OREOS…that seems vaguely sacrilegious but I know what you mean.

  17. Molly Galler says:

    I love Chilly Cow! I used to babysit for a family and Arlington and we went there all the time. Glad you got to experience it!

Leave a Reply

