Brunch at Area Four

I tried brunch at Area Four shortly after it debuted, though it has taken me until now to write it up. You’ll be shocked to discover that, like everything else I’ve had at Area Four, I quite liked it.

We started off with hot tea, which arrived in the signature MEM Tea stainless steel pot along with a playful art deco timer.

The Brioche French Toast with bananas foster compote, candied nuts and chantilly crème frâiche exceeded my wildest expectations. The brioche itself, it should be noted, is baked in house by Katie Kimble, as are all the breads served at Area Four. One of my unofficial rubrics for evaluating a dish of French toast is how much it needs maple syrup. Since I’m not shy when it comes to pouring on what I’d deem one of my top three favorite condiments, a plate of French toast has to be outstanding to make me not want to add any maple syrup. And that was this French toast. Because even a good plate of French toast can do with a little syrup. But this one begged to be enjoyed on its own. This was due to two factors: the bread itself and the banana compote. The bread was moist and eggy throughout, with a nice crust outside and no signs of dryness. The bananas foster compote was silky, syrupy, with big chunks of soft, caramelized banana. The creme fraiche was tangy, light, and rich against the compote, the nuts adding a sweet and hearty finishing touch.

Dave ordered the Hot Mess with two sunny side up Chip-in-Farm eggs, home fries, bacon, A4 breakfast sausage, caramelized onions, cheddar, scallions and pickled banana pepper relish, which closely resembled the baked egg, maple sausage, bacon and cheddar that he tried last summer on our first visit to Area Four for dinner. This is bacon & eggs to the max. The slightly runny yolk seeps down and coats the sausage, homefries and the rest of the goodies that fill the cast iron skillet.

Other brunch treats include a veggie version of the Hot Mess, Kastrie’s Basket of Goodies (which is equivalent to what I get whenever I go to the bakery), the breakfast sandwich on housemade English muffin as well as some lunch selections from their regular menu. I enjoy a good restaurant brunch, but so many of them are just average (certainly the French toast is average or worse) and the experience often feels monotonous. It is rare that one wows me, but this one did.

Area Four
500 Technology Square
Cambridge, MA
Area Four on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Brunch at Area Four

  1. I still haven’t been to Area Four for brunch. I guess that’s what happens when you move out of the neighborhood. 😦 I’ll have to trek back at some point though because the hot mess looks awesome!

  2. That french toast definitely looks wow-worthy! I love bananas foster.

  3. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    The hot mess looks awesome!

  4. Oh the Hot Mess is my favorite! I love that your French Tost didn’t need syrup!

  5. Meghan says:

    Yum, the hot mess looks delicious!

  6. shannon says:

    oh my gosh, that french toast. and i’d be all over the veggie version of the hot mess 🙂

  7. I feel the same way about brunch – I feel like I’m often disappointed. I need to check out Area Four thought because I have only heard great things.

  8. Never been for brunch, but that french toast looks like it is worth the trip across the river!

  9. Tracey says:

    I love the hot mess and I am big fan of Area Four. Reading this is making me want to go back.

  10. Wow, this looks wonderful! I can practically taste it all from here! Thanks for sharing. Also, I’m having a ChicWrap giveaway today that you should enter!

  11. Sacha says:

    I typically don’t order the French Toast at restaurants for the reasons you mentioned, but the Area Four version looks and sounds incredible! I haven’t been to Area Four since it first opened, and it looks like the Brunch is a must-try.

  12. Megan says:

    I still haven’t been here at all. (shame shame shame shame on me!) But I’m dying to try it.

  13. Joanne says:

    French toast that doesn’t even NEED maple syrup…is amazing French toast! Definitely need to check out Area Four at some point!

  14. Molly Galler says:

    This brunch looks SUPER delicious! A runny egg makes an breakfast dish better.

Leave a Reply

