When Pigs Fly Pizzeria


When I first heard that the Maine-based bread company When Pigs Fly opened When Pigs Fly Pizzeria, I was intrigued. I was even more intrigued after reading Serious Eats’s highly favorable review. The pizzeria is located next door to the company store in Kittery, Maine. So on our way back from Portland, we stopped there for dinner. The restaurant’s decor is modern/industrial, with an open kitchen and exposed air shafts. An enclosed patio offers a quieter alternative to the bustling dining room. 

When Pigs Fly bread is fun. It’s not great bread, but it’s fun bread. They churn out varieties like Mango, Pineapple, Raisin with Toasted Sesame and Ginger and Maple Walnut Banana. I was definitely curious to see how what I knew of their bread would translate to pizza.

We chose the standard Margherita: fresh mozzarella, San Marzano tomatoes, basil, oregano, pecorino romano and olive oil. I could always do with a little more sauce, but I realize that more sauce would risk making a soggier slice. The cheese was flavorful and the was seasoned nicely, with little bursts of fresh basil here and there. There are also a whole host of toppings that you can adorn your pizza with.

There was a good speckling of char on the underside. My one complaint pertained to the end crust. It was a little too thick and soft for my liking. I like the exterior to be crisp and the interior slightly airy and chewy. The undercrust, though, was nicely thin and chewy.

In addition to pizza, the menu includes sandwiches, salads, fish, and burgers. They apparently used to have pork buns that came highly recommended by Andrew but for some reason they took them off the menu. For dessert, there is an ice cream sandwich trio made on When Pigs Fly’s own cookies. I so desperately wanted to try this, but after multiple ice creams and donuts earlier in the day, it wasn’t happening. This pizza was definitely good, but not stupendous. If I were passing through, I’d consider trying some of the pizzas with toppings. Now I can’t say I’ve tried any other pizza in and around Kittery, but I wouldn’t be surprised if this is some of the best in the immediate area.

When Pigs Fly Pizzeria
460 US Route 1
Kittery, ME
When Pigs Fly Bakery on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Reviews, Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When Pigs Fly Pizzeria

  1. Daisy says:

    you can tell the crust is a little soft and doughy. otherwise, looks like a good pie!

  2. Taryn says:

    I love the sweeter flavors of When Pigs Fly bread, but I would be very interested in trying their pizza. It certainly looks pretty, and I like doughy, chewy crust, so I bet I would love it. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Meghan says:

    I love When Pigs Fly. I had no idea they had a pizza place!

  4. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    I had no idea this place existed. Great find!

  5. Michael says:

    That pizza looks so good I wish I could print it out and eat it now.

  6. This post is seriously making me crave pizza! And sweet When Pigs Fly bread. Mmmmm carbs…

  7. dan says:

    When you look at the bottom crust of a pizza it’s called an upskirt

  8. Thank you thank you for telling me about this place; it’s so close to my parent’s house in NH. (PS – you were too full to try their dessert?! Impossible!)

  9. Joanne says:

    I’ve had their bread (and yes, it’s fun!) but had no idea they made pizza also. If I’m ever in the area, I’ll have to check it out!

  10. I like a soft, chewy end crust. We’ve stopped in here before on Kittery visits. So nice to have another dining option in that area! (Might be in Kittery this coming weekend actually.)

  11. Sacha says:

    I remember reading that Serious Eats piece and being intrigued. I bet it gets a lot of outlet traffic! I’m always up for a slice of pizza.

  12. I’ll definitely give this a try if I’m in the area (and hopefully I will be at some point this summer)! I also remember reading about it on Serious Eats and it sounded pretty tasty.

Leave a Reply

