Baked

If you are a sweets enthusiast, it is likely you have heard of Baked, a bakery located in the Red Hook neighborhood of Brooklyn. For those who have not had the opportunity to visit the store, the accompanying cookbook, Baked Explorations written by Baked’s owners Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito, has provided many a homebaker with the resources to create Baked’s famous treats at home.

Red Hook is not an easily accessible area, especially if you take public transit (which explains why I have not been there more often). But clearly that has not stopped throngs of fans venturing from far away places to indulge in a bevy of treats. Baked has a dizzying selection of several confections: cakes, cupcakes, bars, cookies, marshmallows, brownies, macaroons, whoopie pies, biscotti, and more. Above, the Burnt Sugar Bundt. 

Certain items have garnered accolades and high praise, one being the Lemon Drop cupcake. I actually tried it for the first time just weeks before Serious Eats proclaimed it one of the best cupcakes in New York in 2010. The buttery, yellow cake is filled with a sweet and velvety lemon curd. A dollop of smooth buttercream adds a pleasant lightness to the rich curd-filled cake.

Another highly regarded item is the Sweet & Salty brownie, who counts among its fans none other than Oprah. I was moved to try the brownie after seeing it on an episode of Best Thing I Ever Ate (though if you watch the episode, be forewarned that they misrepresented the brownie slightly, sadly there is no layer of salted caramel in the middle). The brownie is chewy and moist, not overly decadent, with a dusting of salt on top.

In hindsight, I could have opted for something more exciting than the ordinary chocolate chip cookie, like a whoopie pie or the Burnt Sugar Bundt. But alas, sometimes that old standby just calls, especially when it looks like this. Baked’s version is thick with a crisp, sturdy exterior, slightly melted chocolate chunks and a chewy center. If I were to head back there today, I’d probably order the cookie again. And a slice of the Burnt Sugar Bundt for good measure.

Baked
359 Van Brunt St
Brooklyn, NY
Baked on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baked

  1. Megan says:

    I am so jealous you’ve been there. I think I’ve made at least 15 recipes from the two cookbooks they have out. And I just heard they are working on a third!

  2. Shannon says:

    cool!! i’d take a lemon drop cupcake and a slice of that burnt sugar cake, please 🙂

  3. Erica says:

    WE HAVE ONE IN CHARLESTON! And I’ve never been…bad food blogger! Everything looks amazing- thats it! I’m going!!

  4. Those lemon bars look incredible! Oh and also all of that frosting!

  5. The bundt cake looks GORGEOUS!

  6. Meghan says:

    That lemon drop cupcake looks so good!

  7. Megan says:

    I’M SO JEALOUS you got to go there! I have their cookbook….and surprise, surprise, everything i’ve made from it is amazing.

  8. Ranjani says:

    Lucky you! I have one of their cookbooks and would love to visit the bakery

  9. Sacha says:

    That burnt sugar bundt is high on my list of things to bake! I made the sweet and salty cake (which does have a visible caramel layer), and I’m sure the brownie is a great alternative. I actually think your classic choices were great — I feel like Baked prides itself on those items and makes them interesting again.

  10. Daisy says:

    sounds like a cool area of brooklyn and a very delicious bakery.

  11. Molly Galler says:

    My friend Molly (yes, we have the same name) is the head pastry chef at Baked! Thank you for exposing your readers to their greatness!

  12. Pingback: Momofuku Milk Bar | Free Food Boston

  13. Pingback: Black Hound | Free Food Boston

Leave a comment