Things I Will Miss from the Somerville Winter Market

Apples, of every variety, from Apex Orchards.

Cheese, in particular the Baby Swiss and Barn Dance from Robinson’s Farm.

The most amazing carrots I have ever tasted, from Winter Moon Farm. Anyone who has had the pleasure of sampling them will know what I am talking about. These carrots are in a class of their own. Beautiful watermelon radishes and chioggia beets as well.

Freshly fried cider doughnuts from Great Cape, sold by the sassy Patience.

Every green imaginable from Steve of NorthStar Farm.

Chocolate banana bread sold by Simmie of Cook’s Farm–seriously amazing. Any chocolate-lover needs to try this.

Fresh spinach, squash and more from Katey and the great staff of Enterprise Farm.

Cinnamon Mexicano and Salted Almond chocolate from Taza Chocolate.

Fresh bread and pastries from Hi-Rise.

Coastal Vineyards wine.

d

Wine from Frank of Zoll Cellars. In addition to wine, his smoked sea salt molten chocolate cakes and chipotle molten chocolate cakes were out of this world.

d

d

d

d

Turtle Creek Winery.

d

d

d

The smoothest, most delicious hummus from Seta’s Mediterranean and burrata and straciatella from Fiore Di Nonno, quality meat from Austin Brother’s and Stillman’s Farm, and seafood from Jordan Brothers and Globe fish, sadly not photographed.

And so many more treats from our wonderful guest vendors: local honey cake from 3 Little Figs, maple brown sugar granola from Best Damn Granola, brown butter roasted sweet potato ravioli from Valicenti Organico, vibrant berry tarts from Danish Pastry House, key lime ginger cashews from Q of Q’s Nuts, and so much more.

I photographed several of the products we were lucky enough to have at the market. What I did not photograph were the wonderful vendors who showed up with a smile every Saturday morning, eager to sample their products and chat with customers. While I ordinarily itch for winter to be over, this year I was happy for it to last. I looked forward to Saturday mornings when I would head to the market to greet the friendly vendors and the hordes of enthusiastic customers. Your warm greetings and gratitude have been very much appreciated. I could not have asked for a better way to spend my Saturdays this winter. You can thank Jaime of Shape Up Somerville, market manager Adrianne, and the folks at the Armory for making the market happen this year.

This Saturday is the last winter market of the season. While I am sad to see it go, the market will certainly be back next year and we are already thinking of ways to make it bigger and better. It has been nothing short of a pleasure to work with the market this year. I hope to see you all at the final market, Saturday 10am to 2pm at the Armory in Somerville.

This entry was posted in Boston, Farmers' Markets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Things I Will Miss from the Somerville Winter Market

  1. linda says:

    after seeing this blog post, and the pics, i’m even more sorry i was unable to make it to the market even once. next year, i’m closing the store for a half hour to get to the market. 🙂 thanks for putting it on, and i can’t wait for next year.

  2. Michael says:

    What a lovely delicious post. Makes me wish I could shop there every day!

  3. Jen says:

    You have successfully captured every single thing I will miss about the Somerville Winter Market. Except for the fresh meat/fish! Gotta give Jordan’s Seafood and Stillman’s At the Turkey Farm some love too 🙂

  4. linda says:

    How mouth-watering everything looks! Your homage to the food and the people is so heartfelt. Really lovely.

  5. Molly Galler says:

    What gorgeous pictures, Elizabeth! I wasn’t able to make it to the Winter market this year (blame it on living across the river in Brighton), but I hope to check it out next year!

  6. The last one??! Nooo! I’ve been away a lot (and am this weekend as well), so I’ve been missing a lot of the Saturday markets. I am so going to miss Great Cape doughnuts, Turtle Creek Riesling (AMAZING!) and burrata cheese. Ah, til next winter – thanks for making the winter market a reality!

  7. biz319 says:

    Completely jealous that you even have a winter’s farmers market – I would be the one standing next to the cheese vendor 😀

  8. Megan says:

    Aw. I can’t believe it’s ending already. What a great market… it was nice to see your smiling face there when we stopped in! I can’t wait for my summer market though!! June, hurry up!

  9. Jaime Corliss says:

    What a beautiful farewell letter to the market, Elizabeth. We thank you, as well, for a successful for first year. We will miss our market assistant, market spokesperson and food blogger extraordinaire all wrapped into one! Till next season.

  10. I really wish that Somerville was more accessible for me. Hopefully the next time the Somerville Winter Market comes around I’ll have a car and will be able to visit!

  11. Michelle says:

    I’m bummed I never made it out to this market but I’m hoping that this means spring and summer markets are just around the corner!

  12. The Best Damn Granola Co says:

    Hi Elizabeth,
    It was a pleasure meeting and talking to you while we were there , glad you enjoyed our granola so much. All of you did a wonderful job. Thanks for having me as a vendor and hope to see all of you next winter, in the meantime.
    Have The Beast Damn Day Ever!!
    Cyndi

  13. Such great pictures….you did such a fantastic job!

  14. I am bummed that I was away so many weekends and missed this, but all I can say now is bring on the summer markets!! 🙂

  15. Jenny says:

    The only good thing about winter.
    Thank you!!!!

  16. Pingback: Sweets from 3 Little Figs | Free Food Boston

  17. Totally didn’t realize that you were the market assistant! I worked on the business plan and funding analysis for the market, and I definitely met you there last year!

  18. Pingback: Bye Boston | Free Food Boston

Leave a comment