Sam’s at Louis

Wednesday night I attended a party on the patio of Sam’s at Louis to celebrate the arrival, finally, of patio-weather and to check out some new menu items. Sam’s is located on Fan Pier, not far from the ICA. The restaurant, without about as much patio space as indoor space, offers sweeping, stunning views of the water. A bright green lawn extends from the building down to the water where it meets a narrow path bordered on one side by a low stone wall. The water was teeming with bright white sailboats.

Several bloggers and I got to take in the gorgeous scenery while sampling some small bites from Sam’s menu. Upon arriving, I was greeted with spoons of a quinoa salad made with both white and red quinoa, blueberries, orange segments, feta, and almonds.

My favorite of the tastings was the pancetta-braised endive with grapefruit and sesame brittle. I’ve only ever had endive raw and I was delighted to see the wonderful texture that results from braising it. It was succulent and velvety. It reminded me of the velvety texture that eggplant gets when roasted or grilled.

The grapefruit segment added a juicy touch of sour to the sweet endive and the sesame brittle lent an earthy sweet crunch.

Gorgeous photo courtesy of Bridget
The mixed drink being served this evening was a cocktail consisting of tequila, cassis, grapefruit juice, club soda, and muddled cucumber and mint. It was refreshingly bubbly and not at all too sweet.

Jalapeño and crab rangoons with sweet and sour plum gastrique.

Pulled pork nachos with a pickled red cabbage.

The patio offered a beautiful and serene setting in which to catch up with friends and enjoy wonderful food. I definitely plan to return to Sam’s throughout the summer and I look forward to trying more their menu offerings.

Sam’s
60 Northern Avenue
Boston

Sam's on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Events, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sam’s at Louis

  1. Glad you ended up going! I got stuck in harvard square late and was bummed to miss it. Looks like a great evening.

  2. Daisy says:

    so much fun!! really nice description of the space.

  3. Aww this looks like so much fun! I haven’t eaten at Sam’s yet but I do like going to Louis for shopping (or window shopping)!

  4. Megan says:

    That quinoa salad looks so tasty and the views are gorgeous! I will have to get down there some time this summer.

  5. Molly Galler says:

    I’ve been to Sam’s a few times. Great location, great food. You can check out my review here: http://popbopshop.blogspot.com/2010/10/dining-out-sams-at-louis-boston.html

  6. Michelle says:

    This looks like it was such a fun night!

  7. That was such a great night!

  8. Shannon says:

    wow, what a great night, the food all looks amazing, too 🙂

  9. Megan says:

    That drink looks so refreshing! And those crab rangoons…to die for. Looks like a fun time!

Leave a comment