The Hummus Place

I don’t mean to sound like a hummus snob, but the truth is, I can’t stand most store brand hummus. The absolute worst was the one served in my college dining hall. Talk about industrial-grade paste. I’m fine with some brands if they’re on a sandwich with lots of cucumber and tomato. But I would never eat it by the spoonful. There is a hummus, however, that I would eat by the spoonful, and it comes from The Hummus Place in New York. The Hummus Place opened about six years ago in a tiny space on St. Mark’s Place with no more than ten tables. That original space has now doubled in size and they’ve also opened three more locations.


The hummus is really beyond words. They offer four different preparations of it, each dressed to perfection. On this visit, we ordered the hummus fava which is topped with whole fava beans, tahini, organic hard boiled egg, olive oil & spices, pictured above, and the hummus masabacha, topped with whole chick peas, olive oil & spices. The hummus is silky and flavorful. The olive oil adds richness and the beans add a warm hearty texture. The green sauce on top is lemony and brightens up the entire dish.


The hummus is served with white or whole wheat pita. The pita is insanely thick, fluffy and steaming when you tear it open. The hummus is best consumed by taking a hunk of warm pita and swiping it strategically through the hummus so that you get a little bit of each of the elements in every bite. It is pure hummus nirvana.

This was my first time trying the falafel at the Hummus Place, which is served with tahini and green sauce. Straight out of the fryer,the inside is tender and moist, not at all dense, with a perfectly crusty outside.


Labane, strained yogurt cheese topped with za’atar & olive oil, was thick and intensely tangy. The richness of the olive oil and the fragrant za’atar softened the tanginess of the yogurt.


Roasted eggplant topped with tahini & lemon dressing was straightforward and delicious. The eggplant was tender and succulent with the tahini adding a nutty richness and tang.

I traveled to Israel in 2006, having already eaten at the Hummus Place several times. I was delighted to find that the hummus in Israel was just like that at the Hummus Place, in both taste and presentation. So while a trip to Israel, might not be in your immediate future, you can at least get a taste of the food in New York.

The Hummus Place
109 Saint Mark’s Place
New York

Hummus Place on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Hummus Place

  1. Oh. my. goodness. This looks like my perfect meal! College turned me off of hummus for awhile, most definitely, but I love a good authentic hummus when I can find one.

  2. Daisy says:

    No wonder you don’t like any store brand hummus after this experience (or eating it in Israel for that matter.) he presentation of the dips are just stunning. PS I think I sang late night karaoke at St Marks Place one time in NYC.

  3. Megan says:

    There is something called the Hummus Place that I haven’t heard to or been to??!! This sounds and looks unbelievable. If I’m ever in NY, I’ll be sure to stop by.

  4. This sounds like my kind of place!! I’ll eat most hummus out there but you can really tell when one is of high quality. This looks excellent!

  5. shannon says:

    oh.my.god. i would eat there every day 🙂 looks amazing, and i want a trip to ny just to try it out!!

  6. Nazarina says:

    Ditto on the whole “hummus distaste”. I really do not like it when it goes down thick, tasteless & one wants to do the unthinkable! However, the way you have described it here & with your salivating pictures, I too want some of it now!

  7. Megan says:

    The Hummus Place sounds awesome! Had no idea such a place existed. I dislike most store brands too, but I find Sabra to be creamy and silky, so I usually go with that when I don’t have time/energy to make my own.

  8. Sam says:

    You had me excited until i realized this was in nyc and not boston…

  9. Michelle says:

    My sister travels to Israel every other year for business and after her first trip, she couldn’t eat store-bought hummus ever again! This place looks fantastic!

  10. Carole says:

    Glad I have your blog to read about restuarants in my ‘hood! Just last night, a friend and I passed The Hummus Place on 7th Ave in the E Village. She remarked she had never heard of it and I, in great surpise, said “You haven’t? Why there is another on St. Mark’s Place.” And then confessed that until the day before I, too, had never heard of it.

  11. that falafel and hummus im sure would be my favorite- it looks so scrumptious!!!

  12. Erica says:

    oh my gosh! This place sounds incredible!! Hummus heaven much?

  13. Rachel B. says:

    I went there yesterday and was bowled over by the wonderful, personalized service, the tasty, healthy, fresh food, and the amazing pricing for such a delicious feast!

  14. kim says:

    it was this hummus place that ignited my love for hummus. I haven’t been back for awhile, but have heard the portion sizes have reduced. Did you feel this way?

Leave a comment