Lulu Cake Boutique

A few months ago, I briefly popped in to Lulu Cake Boutique, a new bakery on 8th Avenue in New York. The shop was bright and clean and they had an extensive selection of charming baked goods: cake slices, cupcakes, homey cookies and fancy cookies, and the most fun of all, gourmet versions of classic snack cakes like twinkies and yodels.d

I did not purchase anything on that first visit (if I recall correctly, because I had just come from a bakery and was on my way to another…) so on my most recent visit I made sure to stop in.

dThe fancy cookies were particularly enticing. Being a sucker for any kind of sandwich cookie, I chose the chocolate sandwich cookie with a vanilla buttercream filling. They also offer a vanilla sandwich cookie. The chocolate cookies were very soft, almost bordering on cakey, and subtly sweet. It was an elegant rendition of a sandwich cookie, not overly rich or sugary.

The poppyseed thumbprint cookie with raspberry preserves was hearty and somewhat dense, but in a good way. The poppyseeds added a nice crunch and most of the sweetness came from the dollop of preserves.

I knew I wanted to get a twinkie regardless. Lulu’s twinkies are mini loaf cakes filled with some sort of filling and coated in either chocolate or white chocolate.

It was a humid day and I thought the lemon flavor sounded refreshing. It is a yellow cake filled with lemon curd and enrobed in white chocolate. The cake was tender and the white chocolate formed a soft outer shell. The twinkie is light on the lemon flavor. I could maybe have done with some more lemon, in the form of a lemon glaze on the outside instead of white chocolate. But overall it was a fun little treat that did not disappoint.

I am very anxious to make a return visit as I have a long list of treats I still want to sample at Lulu, not least of which are the cakes and other flavors of twinkies.

More cake in New York:
Baked
Black Hound
Momofuku Milk Bar
Two Little Red Hens

Lulu Cake Boutique
112 8th Avenue
New York, NY
Lulu Cake Boutique on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lulu Cake Boutique

  1. Linda says:

    Your photos are lovely — so enticing!

  2. I have definitely never seen a Twinkie that looked that delicious!

  3. Daisy says:

    i love how creative they got with the twinkie.

  4. That lemon cake looks soooo good. You are my bakery-finding idol, always scoring the best goodies!

  5. Megan says:

    Interesting Twinkie concept — looks like it tasted much better than a true Twinkie.

    And can I just say that I love that you didn’t purchase anything on your first visit because you were there in between bakery visits. 🙂

  6. shannon says:

    ha, i’ve never had a twinkie. definitely wouldn’t steer towards that, but the treats look delicious 🙂

  7. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    The thumbprint poppyseed cookies look AWESOME!

  8. sssourabh says:

    I’ve heard mixed reviews on this one and thats why I’ve stayed away from Lulu’s. Did you go back for anything? Trying to see what it was that made some people stay away… but still want to try. Adding it to a long list.

Leave a comment