Gay Ice Cream

I love a fun, eye-catching name, and I love when a business lives up to that name. Big Gay Ice Cream Truck fits the bill. To summarize in one sentence, BGICT is Mister Softee classed up with gourmet touches: toppings, sauces, and mix-ins. This is already a plus in my book because, as Ryder put it, I like my ice cream with all the bells and whistles. It’s all soft serve at BGICT. I like the texture of soft serve but the flavor doesn’t usually do it for me. I find it a touch flat and artificial. But you don’t go for soft serve expecting flecks of vanilla bean. Precisely why the bells and whistles are so crucial.


Photo courtesy of JoseSPiano

Doug, the man behind BGICT, has a personality to match the truck’s name. Don’t worry if you get to the window and don’t know what you want. Doug will be more than happy to decide for you. We even knew what we wanted, and Doug still decided for us. We were originally going to go for the Belgian Slipwich, a vanilla ice cream sandwich with a layer of nutella. Doug said no, it was too hot (it was hot). It would be too messy. He decided we wanted the Salty Pimp. That was our second choice. I wasn’t going to argue.


Photo courtesy of JoseSPiano

The Salty Pimp is vanilla soft serve with dulce de leche and sea salt, dipped in chocolate. This cone was more than the sum of its parts. It tasted like what an amazing homemade Snickers ice cream bar would be, sans peanuts. Since I don’t often do soft serve, this was one of my first experiences with ice cream and chocolate dip. It was like a vastly improved ice cream bar, because the chocolate coating was soft enough to bite into and you can actually taste the chocolate. My only complaint was the amount of dulce de leche. When you get down to the cone, there’s still ice cream, but no dulce de leche.

Doug insisted on putting the cone in a dish for easier sharing and melt-control.

BGICT definitely raised my opinion of what soft serve can be, and if you are into the bells and whistles as I am, it provides a great platform for various combinations. I am now intent on trying the Slipwich, when the temperature/Doug permits.

Big Gay Ice Cream Truck
Broadway & 17th Street
New York, NY
Big Gay Ice Cream Truck on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in New York, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gay Ice Cream

  1. Melissa Isabelle says:

    I need to know where I can find BGICT!!! I wish there were more of these adult themed ice cream trucks.

  2. Pingback: DessertTruck Works | Free Food Boston

Leave a comment